Notes on Chennai.

I befriended a couple on the flight. They suggested a place for me to stay and then offered me a ride there. They also offered me a dosa to snack on while we waited for our ride.

The place where I’m staying is rather quaint. It’s the kind of place you either love or hate. I love that it’s less than $6 a night and right smack in the middle of Chennai.

My second meal was a delicious massala dosa for lunch with a special lassi on the side.

I forgot how loud it is here. All those motorbikes, auto-rickshaws, cars, and buses can overwhelm your senses.

The only explanation I can think of for why most people choose to walk on the roadway and battle it out with moving vehicles when there are perfectly decent sidewalks all around, is that the sidewalks reek of urine.

I noticed several people urinating on the sidewalks and even one woman defecating while standing in front of a really awesome mural of Ganesha, Jesus and Shiva. I was getting ready to take a photo of it when I realized that the lady wasn’t praying but just leaning against Ganesha while taking care of business.

The smells can be quite noxious.

It’s a pain in the ass to break big bills.

There are so many people out on the street.

And they are mostly men.

I’m heading to Mahabalipuram for the day tomorrow and then off to Mysore tomorrow night.

I packed lighter for these two weeks than I did for my weekend trip to Cambodia some days ago.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,196 other followers

